• Richie Towell receives the player of the year trophy from Roy Keane
  • Towell wins top award

    Republic of Ireland assistant manager, Roy Keane, presented Dundalk's Richie Towell with the PFA Ireland EA SPORTS player of the year award at The Gibson Hotel on Friday night.  

    At a packed star-studded event, Darragh Maloney of RTE, looked after proceedings, including a chat with guest of honour Roy Keane and special guest Brian O'Driscoll.

    Brandon Miele of Shamrock Rovers was named the Scribe of London young player of the year and Danny Furlong of Wexford Youths won the SSE Airtricity first division player of the year.  There were also three other awards handed out on the night and Wes Hoolahan was voted the Irish overseas player of the year.

    Mark McCadden, Soccer Writers' Association of Ireland vice preseident & soccer correspondent for the Irish Daily Star presented the first award of the evening, the special merit award to Sean Ryan, for his contribution to Irish football.

    Ardal O'Hanlon, also known as Fr Dougal Maguire of Father Ted fame, handed over the manager of the year award to Stephen Kenny; the third year in a row that the Dundalk manager has won this accolade.

    There's a new name to add to the referee of the year list as Paul McLaughlin received this year's award from PFA Ireland General Secretary, Stephen McGuinness.

    Brian O'Driscoll presents the young player of the years awards to Brandon Miele

    Brandon Miele, Shamrock Rovers, received the Scribe of London, young player of the year award from former Ireland and Leinster captain, Brian O'Driscoll


    Leanne Sheill presents Danny Furlong with the first division player of the year award

    Danny Furlong, Wexofrd Youths, received the first division player of the year award from Leanne Sheill, SSE Airtricity Marketing Executive 

    More photographs are available on our facebook page - PFAIOfficial

    Photography by Andy McDonnell Photography